Hi I'm a newbie, with a motorhome due to leave for 3 month trip on 1st August and has decided it doesn't want to go!

3.0l iveco ducato 2011

Will not rev sitting at 1000rpm pumping out Black reek

Was plugged in and faulted on crankshaft sensor, I replaced this with a bosch and the fault remained but cleared on the diagnostic reader.

Got a mobile mechanic who said faulty oil pressure switch, replaced but no change.

Got it plugged in to snap on diagnostic thingy and got these codes

U1602 can line; bus off

U171A refer to OEM REPAIR info for description 

Frazzled and disillusioned

50 miles from fiat dealer and would need to transport

Any help would be most gratefully received

If you don't have breakdown insurance of some kind that I'd suggest investigating this initially.

It seems to me it will need to go to an authorised workshop, and it sounds as though the problem is in the engine management electronics, which may have become corrupted, or need an update.

I assume the base vehicle is Fiat badged, and not IVECO, although I believe the engine is common to both brands - but even then there may be differing ECU programs.

Whatever, I think it needs to go into a Fiat Professional (commercial vehicles, not cars), or (depending on base vehicle branding) IVECO, workshop to be connected to the relevant (Fiat/IVECO) electronics for investigation.  It seems that will mean on a transporter, hence my suggestion re breakdown insurance.

I seem to remember either RAC or AA allowing owners of already broken down-vehicles to join and get immediate break-down assistance - providing they were open about their present circumstances.

Others may well come along with other possible causes, but time is not on your side and with an intervening weekend, it seems you need to act as soon as you possibly can.

Good luck.