Filling up with Fresh Water

Fellbound

Silly question!

I'm still very new at this. Got my MH at the back end of last summer and to date I've only done short 2/3 day trips, so I have been filling the water tank at home and it has lasted each trip. But obviously on longer trips I will need to fill up elsewhere.

My filling hose has a Hozelock type attachment. Is this suitable for taps at all camp sites or do I need to take some form of universal fitting with me? And on the continent? Also my hose is 7.5 metres. Will that be long enough (water filler is at rear of my motorhome). What do others do?

Not a silly question at all. Much depends on how you use your van.

Personally I have never used a container or watering can much preferring to drive to a tap but if you are parked up in one place for several days, something we rarely do, I 'can' see the benefit!

If you only ever use sites chances are that your hose and a universal Hozelock hafl and three quarter inch type tap adapter plus a container with funnel will be all you will ever need.

If you rarely use sites then Aires, marinas and the opportunist tap when you come across one will often take a bit more ingenuity and possibly an extension hose in some cases.

There are many different size taps around Europe and as time passes we have collected many different adapters learning and adapting as we go.

The one we use most apart from the Hozelock is like this.

http://www.wilko.com/hose-pipes-sprinklers+spray-guns/wilko-tap-connector-round/invt/0298821

Both the above and the Hozelock screw on are available in larger sizes and we do also occassionally use the one inch sizes when we find a wider outlet tap, threaded or unthreaded, on a custom built service point.

http://www.hozelock.com/product-category/watering/fittings-and-connectors-watering/tap-connectors/