Red button

johnfromnorfolk

I usually put my Fiat Ducato into storage for about two weeks during the winter and then give it a run to warm and recharge the battery.

Recently when putting it into storage I disconnected the vehicle battery by depressing the red switch while removing the key.

After I performed this task I noticed a clicking noise from inside the M/H and the blue alarm sensor was flashing.

I hadn't noticed this before, any thoughts or advice?

I assume the red button is the one on the ignition-switch when a Ducato has the Battery Disconnection Function (as shown in attached drawing).

Other than you mentioning in an earlier posting that you own a 2013 Ducato, I’m not aware of any other details of your vehicle, so I’m not sure if it’s a motorhome or ‘commercial’.

I’ve no experience of the Battery Disconnection Function (my Ducato-based Rapido does not have it) other than what’s said in the Ducato Owner Handbook, and I believe you’ll need to provide more information about the “blue alarm sensor” that was flashing, as I’m uncertain whether this relates to a Ducato feature or something else (eg. an after-market alarm system).

I would have thought the Battery Disconnection Function could well trigger a relay (hence the clicking noise) and, if there’s an alarm system powered by the vehicle’s starter battery, that isolating the starter-battery might provoke a reaction from the alarm system. So, are you sure the clicking/flashing hasn’t always happened and it’s only now that you’ve noticed it?

755318612_batterydisconnectionbutton.png.36ef7e755fecc35268b2d20e7b28d0d8.png

The Battery Disconnection Function (BDF) was discussed in this 2017 MHFacts thread

https://forums.motorhomefacts.com/149-fiat-ducato/205394-battery-isolator.html