Autocruise Valentine Hook up issue

malc1001

Hi,

I'm a total newbie and just bought my first motorhome, a 1999 Autocruise Valentine.

However, i dont seem to be able to get any power from the 240v 3 pin sockets inside when its hooked up. I also assume that the leisure battery wont be charging either as it charges from the hook up? 

The red charge light does not come on the PMS (PMSB5WAH) unit when its plugged in but I have tested that voltage is getting to the PMS unit but dont know what happens after that. 

All the trips are still in the ON position.

Am i missing anything simple such as a switch etc that i am unaware of as its all new to me?

Or is it likely to be anything more in depth like the PMS itself.

Many thanks in advance for any help provided.

This is a photo of the Plug-In Systems PMS5BWAH unit that was fitted to Autocruise Valentine motorhomes.

image.jpeg.20d49b1efe41810cf1bddd5d2ab772b7.jpeg

Are you 100% certain that 240V mains power is reaching the unit, as - even though the mains switch and the three circuit-breakers are in the ON position - that doesn't necessarily prove this is to be so? I assume there's a 'test' button on (or by) the mains switch: if that's the case, what (if anything) happens when the button is pressed?

With a motorhome of this age, there's no knowing what previous owners will have got up to DIY-wise, but I can't think of any compelling reason for there to be supplementary mains-related switches to those that are on the PMS5BWAH unit, other than the usual On/Off switches on the 240V sockets (and, possibly an On/Off switch on the charger).

Can you contact whoever you bought the Valentine from? The 240V mains sockets and the onboard battery-charger SHOULD become 'live' when the motorhome is connected to a mains power supply and  - if there's a problem that stops this happening - you should have been  made aware of it.