Fiat Swift Escape advice

grambo1

Morning all we are looking to buy a fiat escape but want a question answered we was looking at one at our local dealership but when I was sat in drivers seat and stood up to walk into the living quarters I noticed that the rubber flooring where the batteries are stored in very springy is this supposed to be like that as the dealership said it was  as I am new to this I was just checking at a the moment I have a 1989 fiat panorama 6 berth very nice classic so undecided weather to get new one or stay with the classic any advice would be greatly appreciated

Graham

Hi Graham 

yes this is completely normal, our previous Malibu 16 reg and our 19 reg A class super lightweight Cathago. 
even the new one we’re waiting for is springy 

mum somewhat overweight and no damage has ever happened 

den

• Keithl changed the title to Fiat Escape advice

As Den says, this is entirely normal.

But - and I'm assuming this is a Swift Escape, pay very close attention to the underside of the coach-built area.

Check the floor around the rear, side skirts and body mouldings - particularly if this is an older model.

When the X250 was first introduced in 2006 there was a metal cover over the top of the battery and the floor was fairly rigid. It was discontinued  as the years progressed so that it is no longer fitted. I noticed on my 2017 model that the cover over the positive terminal fuse board is also no longer fitted. 

two-M.jpg

• Keithl changed the title to Fiat Swift Escape advice