Replace Leisure batteries

webby1

We are usually on EHU so only recently noticed that our 2 Varta LFD 90 no longer hold a charge (down to 10.5 gulp👎)

I found the receipt and we bought them in 2015........not "recently" as I seemed to remember.So happy that it's time for replacements.

Tayna batteries now have the LFD 95 but I see there is also an LED 95 and even LFS 95. I wonder if anyone has any observations about the differences.Or even a better suggestion for replacements.

By the way the 2015 receipt showed £130................err that was for both batteries 😂

I bought one of the last LFD90's from Tayna just two years ago for the princely sum of £85 inc P&P and CMH discount. My previous one was then over ten years old and whilst still performing well I did not want to get caught out at a long weekend show without power.

Unfortunately I have no experience with the newer LED95 or LFS95 but disagree with Spirou's descriptions above. Tayna clearly state the LED95 is a Dual Purpose battery (ie starter and/or leisure) and the LFS95 is a dedicated leisure battery (although it does list a CCA figure which implies a starter battery). So either would be suitable for your use. Maybe call Tayna and ask their opinion.

LED95 VARTA PROFESSIONAL DUAL PURPOSE EFB LEISURE BATTERY 95AH (930095085)

LFS95 VARTA PROFESSIONAL DC LEISURE BATTERY 95AH (930 095 080)

My understanding of Varta's L-type short-code  is that the 2nd letter indicates the battery technology (A=AGM, F=Flooded) and the 3rd letter (when present) indicates the battery's primary purpose (D=Dual-purpose, S=Starting).

This 2020 Varta webpage (sort of) shows the difference

https://batteryworld.varta-automotive.com/en-gb/a-new-powerful-trio-for-the-leisure-segment

and this webpage

https://www.varta-automotive.com/en-gb/products/leisure-batteries

supposedly helps to identify a suitable Varta 'leisure' battery.