Vehicle battery condition

peterjl

Hi. Went to take Moho out yesterday and it barely turned over and didn’t start , now I am not an engineer and knowledge is not strong so after consulting Google I…..

checked voltage across battery = 11.7

charged at 8amps ( it’s an 8am charger) starting at 1 pm and it showed full charged 9 hrs later

this morning checked voltage = 12.68. ;  took for a 12 mile drive, about 30 minutes given traffic jam, and checked again 12.48.  Two hours later ran lights for a couple of minutes without starting then voltage 12.28. Then started engine and checked whilst engine running = 13.95.: after engine switched off voltage = 12.6

Not sure if all this means battery is ok or I have a problem. Any guidance, thoughts very welcome.

FYI Moho is 2021 Fiat ducato 2.3 ( Possl Roadstar 600 L )

Peter

1 hour ago, peterjl said:

Hi. Went to take Moho out yesterday and it barely turned over and didn’t start , now I am not an engineer and knowledge is not strong so after consulting Google I…..

checked voltage across battery = 11.7

charged at 8amps ( it’s an 8am charger) starting at 1 pm and it showed full charged 9 hrs later

this morning checked voltage = 12.68. ;  took for a 12 mile drive, about 30 minutes given traffic jam, and checked again 12.48.  Two hours later ran lights for a couple of minutes without starting then voltage 12.28. Then started engine and checked whilst engine running = 13.95.: after engine switched off voltage = 12.6

Not sure if all this means battery is ok or I have a problem. Any guidance, thoughts very welcome.

FYI Moho is 2021 Fiat ducato 2.3 ( possl Roadstar 600 L )

Peter

Hi Peter,

11.80V is generally accepted as a fully discharged battery.

Your charger has a maximum rating of 8A, but the actual charge current will reduce as the battery voltage rises.